Sunday, March 26, 2023

August 2011 E-Newsletter

August 2011 E-Newsletter


Thirteen new highly qualified math and science teachers are beginning their teaching journeys in Central Louisiana classrooms. They are the first graduates of CART: the Central Louisiana Academic Residency for Teachers.

CART is a site-based teacher program that takes qualified college graduates and pays their tuition as they work toward an LSU Master of Natural Science degree. After they receive their diplomas, the residents will teach in Central Louisiana high schools for three years. The Rapides Foundation conceptualized CART to help Central Louisiana school districts with limited resources offer rigorous education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. It is administered by The Orchard Foundation.

“The purpose of this program is to dramatically increase the number of mathematics and science teachers in high-needs high schools who are qualified to teach AP/Dual Enrollment coursework,” said Marjorie Taylor, executive director of The Orchard Foundation. “These teachers will eventually become mentors to other teachers and leaders in advancing college and career readiness in their districts.”

CART is a five-year grant from the U.S. Department of Education to Louisiana State University. The first group of 13 residents began their work in June 2010, attending an intensive summer of academic learning at the LSU-Baton Rouge campus. In the fall of 2010, they went to their assigned schools in Central Louisiana where they served as residents in those schools. Now that they have completed the program, the CART graduates are entering Cenla schools.

Over the course of the five-year grant term, up to 60 new teachers will be trained. The second group of CART residents began their training this summer, and they are joining Cenla schools as residents this fall.
“This program will greatly strengthen the teaching core and type of rigorous courses offered to Central Louisiana students,” said Joe Rosier, president and CEO of The Rapides Foundation.

The new residents are Alejandra Rubio, Allen Parish; Marisa Lee, Avoyelles Parish; Jessica Harvey, Catahoula Parish; Sharon Henard, LaSalle Parish; Taneka Aristidou, Natchitoches Parish; Jon Holland, Jessica Paul and Anthony Soileau, Rapides Parish; Lacee Brown, Eric Guidry and James McDonald, Vernon Parish; and Sean Ford, Winn Parish.

For more information about the CART program, please call The Orchard Foundation at 318-767-6560.

CART's first residents are entering Cenla classrooms this school year. The graduates, and their schools, are:
  • Trina Bradford - Cloutierville Middle School, mathematics.
  • Reggie Braxton - Elizabeth High School, biology.
  • Theresa DeVanie - Marksville High School, chemistry.
  • Theresa Fletcher - Winnfield Senior High School, mathematics.
  • Myles Gilliland - Tioga High School, mathematics.
  • Patrick Kelly - Avoyelles High School, biology.
  • Carly Martel - Bolton High School, chemistry.
  • Tiffany Milliern - Rosepine High School, mathematics.
  • Jessica Odom - Natchitoches Central High School, mathematics.
  • Sarah Roark - LaSalle High School, biology.
  • Leslie Smith - Peabody Magnet High School, mathematics.
  • Amber Williams - Northwood High School, mathematics.
Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2023 by The Rapides Foundation